Hello, my name is Shion and I would like to help you improve your English. I have lived in Japan for over twenty-five years so I speak Japanese and know the Japanese culture quite well. You don’t have to worry about communication during class because I will also use Japanese to explain anything that is too difficult for you to understand in English. I speak five languages so I have a lot of experience in studying languages, which I can share with you to help you improve quickly! Moreover, I am sure I can sympathize with the difficulties you have in learning English and lead you to reach the level you want to attain.

About Me

My qualifications

  • CPE (Certificate of Proficiency in English) (Cambridge University certificate)
  • CELTA (Certificate of English Language Teaching to Adults) (Cambridge University certificate)
  • TOEIC 985 points
  • EIKEN Grade 1 (2014 Outstanding Achievement Award)


My name is Shion Heigen and I am married to Laura. We have three children, two girls, and a boy. They are now 5, 3 and 1 years old. I was born in 1979. Together with my parents I moved to Japan more than 25 years ago. I have since mostly lived in Kimitsu and Futtsu. Both of my parents are Swiss but in the year 2002 our family received Japanese citizenship. I am the second oldest and I also have younger brothers and sisters. Swiss-German is my mother tongue, but I received a German based education. I have always liked languages so I also studied English and Hebrew. I am a positive minded and cheerful person. My hobbies are swimming, running and reading books. I like sports and outdoor activities in general and I also enjoy meeting new people.

About My Wife

Her qualifications

  • CPE (Certificate of Proficiency in English) (Cambridge University certificate)
  • TOEIC 970 points


Hi! I’m Laura and I have been living in Japan since 2015. I was born in Argentina but at the age of 23 I moved to Israel, where I studied for a B.A in Philosophy and Education and an M.A. in Political Science. Like Shion, I like languages very much. My mother tongue is Spanish, and I am proficient in English and Hebrew. Since becoming a mother I don’t have much free time, but when time allows I enjoy reading and studying. I also like traveling and learning Japanese. I’m a vegetarian so I don’t eat meat or fish. My favorite foods here in Japan are Mochi and Natto. I am looking forward to visiting more places in Japan, as well as making more friends!